West Limerick 102Fm

I spent six months on an internship at a community radio station in my hometown of Newcastle West. My role was a production assistant but whilst there I became a news reader, created radio advertisements, edited the website and added articles to it. I also created music blocks that were regularly to be played on air. I produced a talk show known as The Exchange which featured interviews and covered a range of local topics. I recorded and edited pre-recorded shows. I was also involved with outside broadcasts. For the last three months I became the advertising controller as the previous ad controller left to go back to college. This role was usually a paid position but management felt I was more than capable to take on this role while on my work placement. My role was then to co-operate with the advertising staff to schedule the ads every day. I enjoyed my internship and made many friends. I was involved in a lot of the day to day runnings of a radio station and I feel this experience will stand to me when I graduate and start my career. Autumn Advertising

Leave a Reply

